April Jazz: Mathias Eick Quintet, Aapo Heinonen Quintet

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter

Mathias Eick
Mathias Eick Quintet

Trumpeter, composer and bandleader Mathias Eick has for a long time been named one of the world’s major jazz talents. With his fourth release on renowned ECM Records he is well on his way to make a home run. While his earlier editions and musicianship have been characterized by a life spent travelling, constantly heading towards new goals and destinations, the album Ravensburg witnesses a mature artist finding his unique and distinguished musical expression.

Mathias Eick, trumpet
Håkon Aase, violin
Erlend Slettevol, piano
Audun Erlien, bass
Torstein Lofthus, drums


Aapo Heinonen Quintet

Aapo Heinonen Quintet is a melodically swinging and open-minded jazzgroup that combines on stage with a unique way the best qualities of an ensemble and an orchestra. Structurally the compositions are made more for a big band than for a jazz ensemble, but still there is lots of room for improvisation and communication. From the compositions you can find lots of influences from jazz, latin, fusion, world music and film music. Aapo Heinonen is in charge of the compositions of the group but the arrangementsare done in a close cooperation with the band.

Aapo Heinonen Quintet was formed in summer 2009 and their third album TARA was released in September 2018 on German Ozella Music.

Aapo Heinonen, piano, compotion
Jouni Järvelä, saxophones
Héctor Lepe, guitar
Vesa Ojaniemi, bass
Tomi Saikkonen, drums

Duration approx. 3 h 15 min (intermission)

Information and location


Wed 2019-04-24 19:30 - 22:45


Espoo Cultural Centre, Louhi Hall (Café Louhi)

Kulttuuriaukio 2, 02100 Espoo


April Jazz / Espoo Big Band ry

Web adress

April Jazz

Price, euro


Additional information; price, ticket sales

Tickets €35/29 + delivery fee (from €1)