Rescue Department Board

The purpose of the board is to handle the tasks prescribed by the Rescue Act within the Länsi-Uusimaa region. As of 1 January 2013, the region includes the following 10 municipalities: Espoo, Hanko, Lohja, Inkoo, Siuntio, Karkkila, Kauniainen, Kirkkonummi, Raasepori and Vihti.

Duties of the board:

  • deciding upon the service level of the Länsi-Uusimaa rescue services
  • coordinating emergency preparedness planning and assisting the rescue service municipalities with regard to preparedness
  • ensuring patient transport and emergency care operations as agreed upon with the rescue service municipalities
  • operating as the municipal oil spill prevention and response authority referred to in the Act on Combating Oil Pollution on Land and the Government Decree on the prevention of pollution from ships
  • completing agreements on the patient transport operations of the Länsi-Uusimaa Rescue Department in the rescue service municipalities
  • deciding upon the chimney sweeping charge and the division of chimney sweeping districts

Members of the Rescue Department Board on the Finnish website