City Council

A Council with 75 members holds the highest decision-making authority in the City of Espoo. The members are chosen by an election held every four years. The Council for the term 2017–2021 was chosen in an election held in April 2017.

The Council is responsible for the operations and finances of the City of Espoo. The Council decides on the annual budget and manages the strategic policies of the city. The Council decides on the grounds for organising administration in addition to electing officials to the City Board and other organs. The Council may sign its decision-making authority over to subordinate organs.

Council meetings are open to the public. They are held in the Council Hall at Espoonkatu 5. Meetings can also be watched live online or afterwards as recordings.

Party Distribution in the City Council 1.6.2017-31.5.2021

National Coalition Party (Kok.) 28
Green League (Vihr.) 17
The Finnish Social Democratic Party (SDP) 10
The Swedish People´s Party (SFP) 6
The Finns Party (PerusS) 3
The Centre Party (Kesk.) 3
The Left Alliance (Vas.) 3
The Blue reform (BF) 2
The Finnish Christian Democrats (KD) 2
The Liberal Party (Lib) 1

Councillors (in Finnish)